Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

  1. #1
    Kombatant
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    103
    Thanked: 4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

    Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    I need help with Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows, The problem is it works fine until when i get to Character Select. I use Random Select, but the game crashes. and i get stopped working error I'm using Windows 7 64-bit. Has anyone had this problem before?

  2. #2
    Black Dragon Recruit D3THF15T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    in self imposed exile...
    Age
    30
    Posts
    502
    Twitter
    @@mellow_jonny
    PSN
    staypuffinman
    Thanked: 69
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    Get Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection on the console of your choice.

    It will work every time.

    mkhdak.jpg

  3. #3
    Kombatant
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    103
    Thanked: 4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    Well, I already got Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection for PS3. Anyway, So continue posting

  4. #4
    Tarkatan Warrior
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Dreamy MK world
    Age
    37
    Posts
    312
    Thanked: 13
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    Have you tried the compatibility in properties?

  5. #5
    Shaolin Monk Destroyer_13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,918
    Thanked: 294
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    mk3 is a pretty old game. are you sure its for windows? i used to have mk3 on pc waaaay back in like the DOS days. i had to exit windows to play it.

  6. #6
    Kombatant
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    103
    Thanked: 4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

    Yes I use compatibility in properties and I set to Windows 95

    Yes I know it's Windows
    Last edited by DCR; 02-25-2013 at 11:25 AM.

  7. #7
    Kombatant
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    103
    Thanked: 4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    Have anyone have that problem too?

  8. #8
    Shaolin Monk MK9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,042
    Xbox Live
    DECEPTIONz
    PSN
    MKvsDCU
    Thanked: 64
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    Quote Originally Posted by aberk81 View Post
    Have anyone have that problem too?
    LOL!

    You cant play it in Windows! It must be played in DOS! Trust me. I remember trying to play it IN Windows back in the day, and it ALWAYS crashed at the character select screen. Loaded it up in DOS, and it worked GREAT! Personally I think it had better blood and graphics then even in the Arcade version. PLUS, you can play big head mode and mini mode and extra blood mode and everything. Pretty cool! Just search up online for those modifications. it will tell you how to do it. When in DOS, you gotta start off the game with:

    c:\>MK3 -blahblahblah

    replace blah with some sort of word or number.

    :D
    My Mortal Kombat Kommunity Kontributions: (MK9 Kustom Soundtrack), (MKX Kustom Soundtrack)

  9. #9
    New Kombatant Namsan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Paris France
    Age
    37
    Posts
    21
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    I have the same problem ^^

  10. #10
    New Kombatant
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    Quote Originally Posted by MK9 View Post
    LOL!

    You cant play it in Windows! It must be played in DOS!
    LOL! There are distinct DOS and Windows versions, and from your description I bet you have never even encountered the latter so try not to offer an opinion on things you don't know about.

    I have the same problem with MK3 for Windows. Can someone help? I have already played the DOS version but the gameplay is totally different according to many sites. The Midway Arcade Treasures Deluxe Edition for Windows is a buggy mess even with patches, and has truly horrible DRM that ruined my friend's Windows setup so I'm not going to touch it. Moreover its MK3 gameplay is not the same as that of the original MK3 for Windows. I really hope I don't have to install Win95 in a VM just for MK3...
    Last edited by rob; 09-30-2015 at 10:07 AM.

  11. #11
    Shaolin Monk MK9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,042
    Xbox Live
    DECEPTIONz
    PSN
    MKvsDCU
    Thanked: 64
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    Quote Originally Posted by rob View Post
    LOL! There are distinct DOS and Windows versions, and from your description I bet you have never even encountered the latter so try not to offer an opinion on things you don't know about.

    I have the same problem with MK3 for Windows. Can someone help? I have already played the DOS version but the gameplay is totally different according to many sites. The Midway Arcade Treasures Deluxe Edition for Windows is a buggy mess even with patches, and has truly horrible DRM that ruined my friend's Windows setup so I'm not going to touch it. Moreover its MK3 gameplay is not the same as that of the original MK3 for Windows. I really hope I don't have to install Win95 in a VM just for MK3...
    How can they be different?... lol

  12. #12
    New Kombatant
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    Quote Originally Posted by MK9 View Post
    How can they be different?... lol
    The Windows version was a port of the PS one, and gameplay-wise differs from the DOS version. Moreover the very fact that they are meant for different platforms (Windows vs DOS) means they present a very different set of challenges when it comes to getting them to run successfully on modern systems. So let me repeat that people (including me) are asking for help with running the former and not the latter.

  13. #13
    Shaolin Monk MK9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,042
    Xbox Live
    DECEPTIONz
    PSN
    MKvsDCU
    Thanked: 64
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)

    Re: Mortal Kombat 3 PC Windows problem

    Quote Originally Posted by rob View Post
    The Windows version was a port of the PS one, and gameplay-wise differs from the DOS version. Moreover the very fact that they are meant for different platforms (Windows vs DOS) means they present a very different set of challenges when it comes to getting them to run successfully on modern systems. So let me repeat that people (including me) are asking for help with running the former and not the latter.
    You are correct. I did the research and saw comparison videos... wow.. i didnt know they even had a Windows version... and how different it was opposed to the DOS version. Pretty neat.

    Cheers
    My Mortal Kombat Kommunity Kontributions: (MK9 Kustom Soundtrack), (MKX Kustom Soundtrack)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Mortal Kombat Controller Problem Xbo360&PS3
    By UltimateGuyverx in forum Mortal Kombat (2011) Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-07-2011, 12:15 AM
  2. Mortal Kombat Windows Theme
    By meathook in forum Mortal Kombat General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-02-2011, 11:58 AM
  3. Mortal Kombat Trilogy Problem
    By Rain Demon in forum Mortal Kombat Arcade Klassics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-09-2006, 05:22 PM
  4. Mortal Kombat 3 - Windows 95 Edition
    By Kurgan in forum Mortal Kombat 3 & Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-2006, 09:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •