Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: MK Arcade Buzz?

  1. #1
    New Kombatant ElderGodRy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California
    Age
    36
    Posts
    24
    Thanked: 1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    MK Arcade Buzz?

    I posted a forum topic yesterday but I have a non-related question so I figured I'd make a new post.. I just bought a MK2 arcade in a deticated cab. I notice that there is a slight buzz coming out of the speakers. Not loud enough to notice while playing the game (even on a very low volume setting) but I can hear it once I turn the machine on (after that loud "Ding" sound). It originally had the ground prong missing from the power cable so I put on a new 3 prong end and it didnt fix the issue. I was wondering if there might be a problem or an electronic component in need of replacing or cleaning, or if it's just the normal sound these machines make. Maybe the speakers are picking up a 60-cycle hum from the monitor? It's just something I'm curious about. If It is fixable I'll probably get it fixed but I wont be in a huge hurry to do so.

    Thanks all!
    Ryan

  2. #2
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    5,951
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Thanked: 284
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    It's definitely power issue somewhere. If you can find one, try a new power supply. To get more technical help, I'd try the KLOV Forums.

    http://forums.arcade-museum.com/
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  3. #3
    Tarkatan Warrior
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Outworld, UTAH
    Posts
    354
    Xbox Live
    Matty aka Matty
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    From the title I thought there was "buzz" that MK9 would be released in arcades. DAMN YOUS!

  4. #4
    New Kombatant ElderGodRy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California
    Age
    36
    Posts
    24
    Thanked: 1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    Quote Originally Posted by Matty View Post
    From the title I thought there was "buzz" that MK9 would be released in arcades. DAMN YOUS!
    Haha if so I wouldn't be posting it in the MK2 section.. But MK9 should be produced for arcade. Even if it's just a limited run.. I'd save up for one..... I think... As long as it wasn't $7,000

  5. #5
    Ruler of NetherRealm Aldo Moreno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco,Tx
    Age
    24
    Posts
    5,479
    Twitter
    @Asm_254
    PSN
    Asm_Liu_Kang_254
    Thanked: 337
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    Well aren't you a very lucky bastard. I wish I had a arcade.
    The Emperor, Liu Kang.

  6. #6
    New Kombatant ElderGodRy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California
    Age
    36
    Posts
    24
    Thanked: 1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    Quote Originally Posted by Aldo Moreno View Post
    Well aren't you a very lucky bastard. I wish I had a arcade.
    I've wanted one since I was 8-years-old. I used to ask my family to skip any christmas and birthday presents for 5-10 years and just buy me a Mortal Kombat 2 arcade. Haha. They obviously said "no" so I took matters into my own hands 20 years later. You'll get your arcade(s) one day. If you want them bad enough. =)

  7. #7
    Ruler of NetherRealm Aldo Moreno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco,Tx
    Age
    24
    Posts
    5,479
    Twitter
    @Asm_254
    PSN
    Asm_Liu_Kang_254
    Thanked: 337
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    Quote Originally Posted by ElderGodRy View Post
    I've wanted one since I was 8-years-old. I used to ask my family to skip any christmas and birthday presents for 5-10 years and just buy me a Mortal Kombat 2 arcade. Haha. They obviously said "no" so I took matters into my own hands 20 years later. You'll get your arcade(s) one day. If you want them bad enough. =)
    I want a MAME where it has MK1-MK2-UMK3-MK4.
    The Emperor, Liu Kang.

  8. #8
    New Kombatant DrDogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    34
    Xbox Live
    DrDogg
    PSN
    DrDogg
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    Quote Originally Posted by ElderGodRy View Post
    Haha if so I wouldn't be posting it in the MK2 section.. But MK9 should be produced for arcade. Even if it's just a limited run.. I'd save up for one..... I think... As long as it wasn't $7,000
    $7,000 would be on the low side these days. If MK9 was made into an arcade game, chances are it would need a dedicated cabinet and an HD monitor. Both Tekken 6 and SF4 were over $10k in arcades (when they were new). Although this is partly due to the fact that you couldn't get a board for T6, you had to buy the full cabinet for it. On the other side of the coin, the high end cabinets for both games cost in excess of $30k brand new.

    I used to have an MK1 arcade cabinet, but after moving with it twice I decided I was better off selling it.
    Where I walk, I walk alone. Where I fight, I fight alone. Where... Where is one who can stand against me?

  9. #9
    New Kombatant ElderGodRy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California
    Age
    36
    Posts
    24
    Thanked: 1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    Quote Originally Posted by Aldo Moreno View Post
    I want a MAME where it has MK1-MK2-UMK3-MK4.
    Nice! I have a Mame box I built.. It has all the MKs on it. It's the best thing anyone could ever put in their home. Cool thing is you can start building it in pieces... Start with a computer that runs most or all Mame games. Then get an X-Arcade tank stick.. play around with that for a while untill you have enough to buy an X-Arcade cabinet (I think I paid like $500 for mine shipped). Then comes the fun part.. Get a front-end software and plug in all your games. I have 128 games on mine and It took me a whole day to put them in, set up all the buttons, record a short video of each game for the front end.. Best time and money I ever spent.. I hope you end up with your arcade soon man! Good luck

  10. #10
    New Kombatant ElderGodRy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California
    Age
    36
    Posts
    24
    Thanked: 1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrDogg View Post
    $7,000 would be on the low side these days. If MK9 was made into an arcade game, chances are it would need a dedicated cabinet and an HD monitor. Both Tekken 6 and SF4 were over $10k in arcades (when they were new). Although this is partly due to the fact that you couldn't get a board for T6, you had to buy the full cabinet for it. On the other side of the coin, the high end cabinets for both games cost in excess of $30k brand new.

    I used to have an MK1 arcade cabinet, but after moving with it twice I decided I was better off selling it.
    Yeah I bet I'd want to sell any arcades I had before moving them! Haha. Thats good insight to the prices of the newer arcades... I'm not about to sell my car in order to have a new MK arcade. I think I'd just rather put my PS3 inside my Mame box for a few months. =)

  11. #11
    Ruler of NetherRealm Aldo Moreno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco,Tx
    Age
    24
    Posts
    5,479
    Twitter
    @Asm_254
    PSN
    Asm_Liu_Kang_254
    Thanked: 337
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    Quote Originally Posted by ElderGodRy View Post
    Nice! I have a Mame box I built.. It has all the MKs on it. It's the best thing anyone could ever put in their home. Cool thing is you can start building it in pieces... Start with a computer that runs most or all Mame games. Then get an X-Arcade tank stick.. play around with that for a while untill you have enough to buy an X-Arcade cabinet (I think I paid like $500 for mine shipped). Then comes the fun part.. Get a front-end software and plug in all your games. I have 128 games on mine and It took me a whole day to put them in, set up all the buttons, record a short video of each game for the front end.. Best time and money I ever spent.. I hope you end up with your arcade soon man! Good luck
    WOW!!! You are lucky. Are you selling the MAME?
    The Emperor, Liu Kang.

  12. #12
    New Kombatant
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    Did the new PSU fix the slight buzz cause i have a buzz also in my MK 2 cab and it sounds identical to yours

    still cant believe i got one in this day in age in flawless condition for only 200$

  13. #13
    Tarkatan Warrior danduffy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Age
    32
    Posts
    333
    Xbox Live
    danduffy
    Thanked: 13
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    ask mike yourmkarcadesource

  14. #14
    New Kombatant ElderGodRy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California
    Age
    36
    Posts
    24
    Thanked: 1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    Quote Originally Posted by Celes Sucaciu View Post
    Did the new PSU fix the slight buzz cause i have a buzz also in my MK 2 cab and it sounds identical to yours

    still cant believe i got one in this day in age in flawless condition for only 200$
    Yes sorry for the delay. I fixed this issue by buying a new sound pcb off ebay. Fixed the buzzing

  15. #15
    New Kombatant
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    39
    Posts
    58
    Thanked: 9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: MK Arcade Buzz?

    The buzz is caused by bad caps. You could have replaced them a saved yourself some cash.

  16. #16
    New Kombatant ElderGodRy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California
    Age
    36
    Posts
    24
    Thanked: 1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by zenomorp View Post
    The buzz is caused by bad caps. You could have replaced them a saved yourself some cash.
    That's what I figured the problem was. I still have the old sound board and I've been planning on re-capping it but it's low priority for me now that I have a working one.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-29-2012, 06:39 PM
  2. Midway Arcade Games on Xbox Live Arcade. MK Next?
    By Jeff Greeson in forum TRMK's Front Page News
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 03:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •