Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 64

Thread: I've just bought MK3...

  1. #1
    New Kombatant antonye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    13
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    I've just bought MK3...

    ...for obvious reasons, but not just *any* old MK3...



    It's an MK2 cabinet that has had the Midway MK3 upgrade kit applied to it, hence the mismatch between the original MKII cabinet and the MK3 banner, joystick layout and the game inside.

    Had a play last night and took me a long time to get back into the swing of it, even set on Novice ladder with the game set on Very Easy!!

    It's a v2.1 ROM (the latest I think?), and has already had the Kombat Kode applied so you can play as Smoke. I checked in the menu but couldn't find how to reset this option. I may do a factory reset, but there's loads of cool book-keeping figures in there that I don't want to lose.

    It's a huge cabinet and in need of a some TLC. I would ultimately like to source an MK2 board and maybe swap that in, along with a proper MK3 cabinet.

    Fun days ahead!

  2. #2
    Black Dragon Recruit Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Age
    38
    Posts
    725
    Thanked: 2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Very nice, I am a jealous man.
    You must find me to defeat me.

  3. #3
    TRMK Super Moderator RIPLIUKANG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Age
    31
    Posts
    3,145
    Thanked: 103
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Wow. Awesome job, dude. How much was it? Around 1K?

  4. #4
    Shokan General Glamador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Candyland
    Age
    31
    Posts
    4,446
    Xbox Live
    X Glamador X
    PSN
    Glamador
    Steam
    Glamador
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Man that is kick ass. But of course I would rather have a nice MKII arcade cabinet. I was never very good at MK3 in the first place. Playing it on an emulator even now I can't seem to beat the Novice ladder on anything but very easy.

  5. #5
    Special Forces Agent Tim Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Outworld, Ohio
    Posts
    3,016
    Twitter
    @Tim_Static
    Xbox Live
    Tim Static
    PSN
    Tim_Static
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    I have a MK3 cabinet with a UMK3 marquee, and a MK2, MK3 & UMK3 jamma boards in it.

    I'll try and post a pic

  6. #6
    New Kombatant antonye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    13
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Quote Originally Posted by RIPLIUKANG View Post
    Wow. Awesome job, dude. How much was it? Around 1K?
    It was 150 which is around $300 - bargain!

    MK3 was the obvious choice for me as I'm in the kredits :D

  7. #7
    New Kombatant Palace Lanes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1
    Xbox Live
    PALACE LANES
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Quote Originally Posted by antonye View Post
    It was 150 which is around $300 - bargain!

    MK3 was the obvious choice for me as I'm in the kredits :D
    and how and whys that?

  8. #8
    New Kombatant antonye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    13
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Quote Originally Posted by Palace Lanes View Post
    and how and whys that?
    Old skool :D

  9. #9
    New Kombatant xodome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    29
    Posts
    44
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Lucky bastard, I want that!

  10. #10
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    5,950
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Thanked: 284
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Sorry to bump an old thread, but I just found this (I've been busy).

    Welcome to the club Antony! Here is a shot of mine. I also paid about $300 USD for it. It was a steal. It came with UMK3 as well, and since I bought it I've added MK2 and KI1 into it. I have two MK1 JAMMAs I haven't installed yet, one is on loan still. I will install it once I get it back and get my hands on a good condition MK4 board. I passed up a few good options earlier this year, sadly, but it was to help out those working on emulating it.

    In order to clear Smoke I believe you do have to do a full reset, I too didn't want to do that because of the history of the bookmarked audits.

    As far as the name in the credits, for that same reason is why I want to get The Grid arcade cabinets because my name is in the credits of that.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  11. #11
    Special Forces Agent Tim Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Outworld, Ohio
    Posts
    3,016
    Twitter
    @Tim_Static
    Xbox Live
    Tim Static
    PSN
    Tim_Static
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick McCarron View Post
    Sorry to bump an old thread, but I just found this (I've been busy).

    Welcome to the club Antony! Here is a shot of mine. I also paid about $300 USD for it. It was a steal. It came with UMK3 as well, and since I bought it I've added MK2 and KI1 into it. I have two MK1 JAMMAs I haven't installed yet, one is on loan still. I will install it once I get it back and get my hands on a good condition MK4 board. I passed up a few good options earlier this year, sadly, but it was to help out those working on emulating it.

    In order to clear Smoke I believe you do have to do a full reset, I too didn't want to do that because of the history of the bookmarked audits.

    As far as the name in the credits, for that same reason is why I want to get The Grid arcade cabinets because my name is in the credits of that.
    NICE PAT!!!

  12. #12
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    5,950
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Thanked: 284
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    What are you "NICE"-ing Tim? I thought you knew I had a cabinet, or did you not know I was in the credits of The Grid? I just don't have the room for 2-3 player Grid Machine. Saw a good deal on a set of 3, but I passed on it. My car likes the garage too much. Next house it'll be the first machine I buy.
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  13. #13
    Special Forces Agent Tim Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Outworld, Ohio
    Posts
    3,016
    Twitter
    @Tim_Static
    Xbox Live
    Tim Static
    PSN
    Tim_Static
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick McCarron View Post
    What are you "NICE"-ing Tim? I thought you knew I had a cabinet, or did you not know I was in the credits of The Grid? I just don't have the room for 2-3 player Grid Machine. Saw a good deal on a set of 3, but I passed on it. My car likes the garage too much. Next house it'll be the first machine I buy.
    our cab. Its the first time I ever seen it. Its nice. I think you saw it at UMK.com, maybe not.

    I still havent found a Grid machine. Have you heard if it gonna be emulated? is MK4 done yet? I know there is a unfinished version of MK4 Rv3.0 on MAME, but I havent tried it yet.

    Anywho, thanks Pat. You is awesome, hehe.

  14. #14
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    5,950
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Thanked: 284
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    I posted my cabinet here many times, just didn't feel like digging up the old photos so just snapped one with my web cam. It sits behind me to my right all day in my office. Doesn't get as much play as I'd like.

    As far as emulation, no dice yet. Still a WIP and very difficult.
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  15. #15
    Kombatant barf79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Pointe-Calumet, QC, Canada
    Posts
    173
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Does anyone knows where i could find a UMK3 or a MK4 Arcade cabinet in good condition in Canada?? I live in the province if quebec. If you know where, please leave me a message.
    MK Rules forever!!!

  16. #16
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    5,950
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Thanked: 284
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    eBay.ca maybe? I don't see much out there right now.
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  17. #17
    Special Forces Agent Tim Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Outworld, Ohio
    Posts
    3,016
    Twitter
    @Tim_Static
    Xbox Live
    Tim Static
    PSN
    Tim_Static
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick McCarron View Post
    I posted my cabinet here many times, just didn't feel like digging up the old photos so just snapped one with my web cam. It sits behind me to my right all day in my office. Doesn't get as much play as I'd like.

    As far as emulation, no dice yet. Still a WIP and very difficult.
    First time I've seen it, aside from hearing alot about it from you

    I'm actually getting a 2nd MK cab very soon. Its actually a MK2 cab with WWF Wrestlemania in it. (the Midway WWF game from around the same time a UMK3) I gonna remove the WWF jamma, and I am gonna put in a multi-jamma selector and have 4 different versions of MK2 in it: Rv3.1, Rv4.2, Rv9.0 & The Immortal Challenger hacks

    Quote Originally Posted by barf79 View Post
    Does anyone knows where i could find a UMK3 or a MK4 Arcade cabinet in good condition in Canada?? I live in the province if quebec. If you know where, please leave me a message.
    MK Rules forever!!!
    It looks like your gonna pay a snot load for shipping no matter where you get it from.

    But before you bid on one, Private message me or Pat about it, or post a thread here about it so we can help you make sure you get a quality cab and not get over charged for it.

  18. #18
    New Kombatant antonye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    13
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Hi Pat, long time no speak!

    I dropped back into the forum as I ended up reading the interview with Ed on MK vs DC.

    Now that the bike racing has more or less finished for me, I'm going to spend some time pulling the cabinet apart and doing some restoration on a few things that need cleaning up.

    I've now got a brand new clear-plastic overlay that a friend made up for me, which helps make it look really good, and bought a few new buttons to replace some of the mangled ones. I even spent some time tweaknig the monitor settings to get a good picture.

    Just the cabinet left to go! I really should post some pics up...

  19. #19
    Black Dragon Recruit MKF30-mkdc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    ???????????
    Posts
    652
    Xbox Live
    MKF30
    Thanked: 0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Nice, hey Pat dude did you used to work for Midway? I've only been on here a few months now you were in the Grid?! : ) that's awesome dude.

    "Never Underestimate Your opponent"
    "For those that already hate MK vs. DC, you're hopeless"

  20. #20
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    5,950
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Thanked: 284
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)

    Re: I've just bought MK3...

    Quote Originally Posted by MKF30-mkdc View Post
    Nice, hey Pat dude did you used to work for Midway? I've only been on here a few months now you were in the Grid?! : ) that's awesome dude.
    No never worked at Midway. I helped test the game quite a bit in it's testing days, so my name was put in the special thanks.
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •