A trip down memory lane: MKM Sub Zero.

Umon Daisuke

I was going through my collection and found the PS1 version, so I thought I'd give it a spin and.... The game certainly wasn't well received by gamers or critics in 97 but I liked it and it remained a guilty pleasure for some time thanks to the live action FMV's.

As soon as I started playing, every single flaw stuck out and hit me over the head like a frying pan. The music is still pretty good and the abilities (like the polar blast) are neat but everything else ranging from AI to the platforming is quite bad even for a 13 year old game. The repetitive level design doesn't help much either.

Still, I pulled through and enjoyed the FMV's again. Can't imagine myself enjoying the N64 version because of their absence. It's still a guilty pleasure.

Any other... "fans" around?

I tried REALLY hard to enjoy it, but the controls ruined it. I think it would've been a really good game, had it not been for that.

I've played it half a dozen times myself. My latest run had some kind of glitch where I couldn't pick up the triangle symbol in the wind stage...so I haven't played it in a while.

However, I remain a fan to this day and will defend MKMSZ. The plot and characters for it are phenomenal (it introduced Quan Chi and Shinnok after all). And the FMV cutscenes have already been mentioned...those are just the icing on the cake.

Yeah, the controls and AI were very poor and made what could have been a decent game awful.

I loved this game, yet I pretty much agree with everything that's been said. The controls were pretty god-awful, and I always got lost at the water sewers/ place. It had its cool moments and definitely annoying moments (the stage where you fight Fujin was a nightmare). Ugh, and the last boss fight was... terrible, to say the least.