Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32

Thread: The Grid Emulation Status

  1. #1
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,847
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Tournaments Joined
    4
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 247 Times in 117 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)

    The Grid Emulation Status

    One thing that is holding back The Grid from being a popular game, is the fact that it's not emulated yet. It's very difficult and complex hardware, and I doubt we'll see a computer anytime soon that can run it very well.

    So far The Grid isn't 100% emulated. Lots of work is still required, but I'll keep updates to the known progress here as the MAME developers figures more out when they have time.

    The latest and furthest the game has gotten in being emulated is the following screenshot after the BIOS startup, it's much better than it was last year:



    We're hoping progress can be made, I'm hoping to get the MAME developers a motherboard to test on later this winter.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  2. #2
    Special Forces Agent Tim Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Outworld, Ohio
    Posts
    3,019
    Twitter
    @Tim_Static
    Xbox Live
    Tim Static
    PSN
    Tim_Static
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Damn, someday soon. I hope!

    Any news on the MK4 emu? (sorry off topic, feel free to PM me if you want to keep it out of this thread )

  3. #3
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,847
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Tournaments Joined
    4
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 247 Times in 117 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    It runs, just slowly. No lighting effects, etc. You really need a beefy machine to run these games, my 8-Core machine here may run it decently with multi-threading but I'll have to test that later. Here's a screenshot.

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  4. #4
    Black Dragon Recruit Kryptonite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Age
    29
    Posts
    725
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't the biggest problem be getting a graphics card that won't lag? I used to do 8-bit game rom editing, like making Mario naked (yeah very mature but I was only 13-15 at the time) or turning Mario into Bowser in SMB1 and editing the levels, and I know the biggest problem with people trying to emulate N64 games back then (98-99) was the graphics cards. I'd imagine a 3GHz cpu and 2GB of RAM would suffice to run these games. You'd just need a top notch graphics card.
    ...

  5. #5
    Special Forces Agent Tim Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Outworld, Ohio
    Posts
    3,019
    Twitter
    @Tim_Static
    Xbox Live
    Tim Static
    PSN
    Tim_Static
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    My machine is beefy:

    4.00 gb RAM
    Intel(R) Core (TM)2 Duo CPU T9300 @ 2.50GHz 2.50GHz {processor}
    NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
    64 bit OP
    320g HD


  6. #6
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,847
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Tournaments Joined
    4
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 247 Times in 117 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    That's not beefy enough TIM. Even my setup runs it a bit slower.

    Code:
      Processor Name:	Quad-Core Intel Xeon
      Processor Speed:	2.8 GHz
      Number Of Processors:	2
      Total Number Of Cores:	8
      L2 Cache (per processor):	12 MB
      Memory:	6 GB
      Bus Speed:	1.6 GHz
    Results without graphics, just CPU computation for MK4 is this: Average speed: 66.65% (89 seconds)

    Also your 64bit OS is not going to net you a huge benefit other than allowing you to access more RAM, it doesn't process any faster so don't list it as a "beefy" trait. More RAM wont help you here either, the game is rather small.

    With emulation the processor that is the biggest lag, these games aren't very advanced graphically but do duplicate the work of all the processors since it's emulated. So little is known about the hardware the MAME team can't really think about optimizing it yet until they know more. Until then, building a bigger system will only marginally help. It'll be cheaper to buy the arcade game.
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  7. #7
    Special Forces Agent Tim Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Outworld, Ohio
    Posts
    3,019
    Twitter
    @Tim_Static
    Xbox Live
    Tim Static
    PSN
    Tim_Static
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick McCarron View Post
    That's not beefy enough TIM. Even my setup runs it a bit slower.

    Code:
      Processor Name:	Quad-Core Intel Xeon
      Processor Speed:	2.8 GHz
      Number Of Processors:	2
      Total Number Of Cores:	8
      L2 Cache (per processor):	12 MB
      Memory:	6 GB
      Bus Speed:	1.6 GHz
    Results without graphics, just CPU computation for MK4 is this: Average speed: 66.65% (89 seconds)

    Also your 64bit OS is not going to net you a huge benefit other than allowing you to access more RAM, it doesn't process any faster so don't list it as a "beefy" trait. More RAM wont help you here either, the game is rather small.

    With emulation the processor that is the biggest lag, these games aren't very advanced graphically but do duplicate the work of all the processors since it's emulated. So little is known about the hardware the MAME team can't really think about optimizing it yet until they know more. Until then, building a bigger system will only marginally help. It'll be cheaper to buy the arcade game.
    Interesting. I thought a PC that can handle any new game on the market could handle a 10 year old game, lol, but i guess not.

    I think your right about just buying the arcade cab, lol.

  8. #8
    TRMK Moderator Jinko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sydney, 'Straya
    Age
    22
    Posts
    3,029
    Twitter
    @JinkoMK
    PSN
    VinnyPoo
    Steam
    JinkoMK
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 55 Times in 37 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Does GPU count to this? What is your GPU Pat?


  9. #9
    Hollywood Superstar Jion_Wansu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    34
    Posts
    834
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Maybe we could make MK4 for the PC run online instead...It's pretty much arcade perfect...

  10. #10
    Special Forces Agent Tim Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Outworld, Ohio
    Posts
    3,019
    Twitter
    @Tim_Static
    Xbox Live
    Tim Static
    PSN
    Tim_Static
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Quote Originally Posted by Jion_Wansu View Post
    Maybe we could make MK4 for the PC run online instead...It's pretty much arcade perfect...
    No, actually its not.

    MK4 for the N64 runs closer to the arcade version, believe it or not.

    Arcade MK4 is the only version of the game thats really worth playing.

    (MKG doesnt count either. The added characters totally broke the game, a la MKT. :/ )

  11. #11
    Tarkatan Warrior
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    279
    PSN
    KornKombat
    Tournaments Joined
    1
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    And MK4 on the N64 is playable online.

  12. #12
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,847
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Tournaments Joined
    4
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 247 Times in 117 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Quote Originally Posted by Jinko View Post
    Does GPU count to this? What is your GPU Pat?
    No it wont do much for MK4. I have an ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT, I can run most everything way over full speed. It's not the highest GPU card on the market, but more than enough for MK4. Again it's the CPUs needing to emulate all the various chips and GPU of the Zeus setup. It will get better, just not very fast.
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  13. #13
    Special Forces Agent Tim Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Outworld, Ohio
    Posts
    3,019
    Twitter
    @Tim_Static
    Xbox Live
    Tim Static
    PSN
    Tim_Static
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Quote Originally Posted by KornKombat View Post
    And MK4 on the N64 is playable online.
    MK4 is still a terrible port of the original. But this is getting off topic....

  14. #14
    New Kombatant
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    39
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    I'm watching www.aarongiles.com for if or when he's gonna mention something about the Zues II emulation. How/why is emulation so hard with today's souped up computer technology? I used to think that because of having the latest graphics card, ram, overclock or whatever else it would take, it could run anything. Is it the programming part of emulation? Excuse my noob.

  15. #15
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,847
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Tournaments Joined
    4
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 247 Times in 117 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Yes he has to program your computer chip to act like the computer CHIPS in the arcade board. So that includes the graphics chip as well as the processor chip. Right now he's having problems getting to figure out the low level data stuff.
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  16. #16
    New Kombatant
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    39
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Hey, it looks like they're working on the Zues II driver as we speak.

    http://www.arcadehits.net/datObase/rom.php?zip=thegrid

    *Sighs* We just gotta wait and see. Maybe we could see something for christmas? (Please, let it be!)

  17. #17
    TRMK Admin, Co-founder Patrick McCarron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,847
    Twitter
    @mccarron
    Xbox Live
    McCarron
    PSN
    McCarronX
    Steam
    mccarron
    Tournaments Joined
    4
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 247 Times in 117 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Yeah they have been working on it last year, but not much progress was made this year.
    Patrick McCarron
    The Realm of Mortal Kombat Co-founder

  18. #18
    Tarkatan Warrior
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    279
    PSN
    KornKombat
    Tournaments Joined
    1
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    I wish Midway would do us all a favor and release this game already. Playing against each other online would be so damn fun.


    Also "The Grid 2" would be sweet on the Unreal 3 engine. If there was more of us demanding it, it would help.

  19. #19
    New Kombatant
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    I'd like to know were you got the rom for The Grid, also what MAME version?

    As for a beefy system goes.. That I have..

    Code:
     CPU - Intel C2D E8400 @ 3.0ghz 
    RAM - 2ghz 
    GPU - 2x 8800 GTS 512m
    I'd be curious how it runs..

  20. #20
    New Kombatant
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    39
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: The Grid Emulation Status

    Quote Originally Posted by KillerXtreme View Post
    I'd like to know were you got the rom for The Grid, also what MAME version?

    As for a beefy system goes.. That I have..

    Code:
     CPU - Intel C2D E8400 @ 3.0ghz 
    RAM - 2ghz 
    GPU - 2x 8800 GTS 512m
    I'd be curious how it runs..
    Anything you wish to find, google makes you feel lucky. As for how it runs, it isn't going to bypass the rom checksum screen.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •