Kung Lao?

Kung Lao87

Hey, as i have stated before, this is my first MK game and i am starting to really love the series. I have played various fighters before, but never really got into mk until my friend got me into mk:a. I have always liked kung lao whenever i watched people play mk, and i started playing him as my main character. i play the game on xbox, and i have recently purchased mk:2 and mk:3 for snes so i can practice the older games. however i am fairly clueless, and everytime i watch my friend play on xbox live i never see anyone pick lao and he never plays lao. i am really a noob, and im still learning the game, but i need to know some things:
Am i putting myself at a disadvantage by playing kung lao? i would like to know this if he is a bad character or something.
What are some good combos for kung lao? The only ones i really know are the ones from the moves list, and a nice combo that is something like x,x,a,l,back+y,x,x,forward+a. other than that i am pretty much in the dark about what technique to use with lao and strategies with him and other combos.
Also, i was watching some mk videos on youtube, and i saw some people playing kung lao on the older games (2 and 3) and they were like using the spin move and his aerial kick or something to combo people across the level and into the corner and like flawless victory alot. is that relatively easy to do and how can i play kung lao in the older games?
Finally, is it worth it to learn more than one character in the mk series?